Starting a LA LLC? All of our business formation packages include a FREE business tax consultation.
Whether you're thinking of opening up a fine dining cajun restaurant, a local jazz club, or something else entirely, when you're starting an LLC in the great state of Louisiana, there's no doubt that you'll have a lot of questions. We've gathered several of the most frequently asked questions to help you get the ball rolling with your Louisiana LLC. From registering your company with the state of Louisiana, to business licenses and corporate franchise taxes, we’ve got you covered. We’ve answered these questions below and linked extensively to our guides, tools and other services, which makes everything streamlined and simple.
There are a few different options when it comes to forming a business in Louisiana. From a legal perspective, there are three main types of Louisiana for-profit business entities: LLCs, S Corporations or C Corporations. For many entrepreneurs, we believe an LLC provides the right blend of liability protection and ease of administration.
In order to form an LLC in the state of Louisiana, there are some minimum requirements you must meet. These are a completed set of Articles of Organization, a business name and a fee you pay to the Louisiana Secretary of State. We recommend taking some additional steps before officially creating your LLC:
After you’ve created your Louisiana LLC, you will also need to review your business license requirements, understand ongoing filing needs, set up a separate business bank account and get an accountant.
In Louisiana, you register a business by completing and filing your Articles of Organization with the Louisiana Secretary of State. You will need to gather information about your business, fill out the form and send it to the Secretary of State with your filing fee. This will formally create your LLC in Louisiana.
You can file your Articles of Organization on the Secretary of State website or mail it in. Alternatively, Bizee can guide you through every step of the process by getting details from you and filing the form on your behalf — for free! There’s no additional charge for our basic LLC filing service, so all you need to do is pay the Louisiana state filing fee.
Incorporate Through Bizee for $0 + the Louisiana State Fee
And get a free Registered Agent for a year.Incorporate Your Louisiana LLC Now
At the time of writing the fee charged by the Louisiana Secretary of State is $100. You can always check the latest Louisiana filing fees here. You can also pay an additional $30 or $50 for walk-in expedited filing, which will create your LLC faster. The amount of the expedited fee is dependent on how quickly you want your filing processed. Some LLC filing services do charge you extra to prepare and submit your filing documents, but at Bizee, we do this for free — so you only pay the state fee.
Once you’ve gathered all of your information together and filed your Articles of Organization (or had Bizee do it for you), it can take up to a week for the Louisiana Secretary of State to legally create your LLC. If you pay an additional $30 or $50, your LLC can be formed within 24 hours, or as you wait.
Is Your Business Name Available in Your State?
Find out using Bizee’s Business Name Search Tool.Free Business Name Search
Trying to Come Up With a Creative Business Name?
Try Bizee's Business Name Generator to brainstorm ideas.Business Name Generator
There are a few ways to register your Louisiana LLC name.
If you want to prevent people from using your business name across the U.S., you can file a trademark for the name. We can help.
In other states, the formal documents that you file to form a corporation or LLC might be known as Articles of Incorporation. In Louisiana, this document is called your Articles of Organization, and it performs the same functions as the Articles of Incorporation.
To some extent, yes. The state of Louisiana requires new businesses to submit an initial report along with their Articles of Organization when forming a new LLC.
No, the State of Louisiana has not passed a law that allows for the creation of a Series LLC. A Series LLC is a special type of LLC where you create one “overall” business and then have individual, series LLCs within it, each counted as separate legal entities.
Have Bizee Act as Your Registered Agent for Only $119 a Year
Or get your first year free when you incorporate your business through us.Registered Agent Service
If you wish to change your Louisiana Registered Agent you can do so by filing a Notice of Change with the Secretary of State. Here at Bizee, we provide a free Louisiana Registered Agent service for the first year if you file through us. If you’ve been using a different Registered Agent and want to switch to us, we’ll file the Notice of Change on your behalf.
Need to Change Your Registered Agent?
Have Bizee file the paperwork for youChange Of Registered Agent Service
If you need to know the Registered Agent of a specific Louisiana business, you can perform a Louisiana Registered Agent search within the state's business database.
As an LLC, any business profits you earn will be reported on your personal 1040 filing and reported and taxed as “pass-through” income. You will typically need to pay:
Louisiana charges a 4.45 percent state sales and use tax on all retail sales, leases and rentals of most goods. You will also need to pay sales tax if you provide a taxable service. You can find a full list of taxable services here.
You will need to register for a sales tax certificate with the Louisiana Department of Revenue. You can complete this process online.
The base rate for Louisiana sales tax is 4.45 percent, and there may be additional sales tax depending on your region, county or city. Once you know your overall sales tax amount, calculate the value of all your taxable products and services. Then, multiply that by your sales tax rate to understand how much you will need to pay.
Once your LLC’s sales tax certificate is approved, you will receive information regarding how often you must file a sales tax return and pay sales taxes. Returns and payments may be due monthly, quarterly or annually.
Some businesses will need to pay a corporate franchise tax in Louisiana, however it does not apply to LLCs unless your LLC is treated as a C Corporation for tax purposes.
If you've formed a business in Louisiana and plan to remain in operation and compliance with the state, you'll likely need some form of business license to do so. The types of business licenses you need will vary depending on your type of business, industry, location and various other factors. We can research the types of business licenses you might need for you.
We hope you’ve found this Georgia LLC FAQ useful. If you’ve used our services and have a question that isn’t answered here, let us know and we’d be happy to help.