Skip to content

Virginia LLC Filing Fees and Requirements

Depending on the specifics of your business, you’ll be required to pay certain fees and fulfill various filing requirements.

Start your business today for $0 + VA state fee.

Want to start an LLC in Virginia? Let Bizee do all the paperwork for you for free.

Enterprising Woman with technical skills

How Much Does Starting an LLC in Virginia Cost?

Legal business registration — and keeping your business in good standing — involves necessary expenses and investment. Some of these costs are payable to the VA Corporation Commission, while others are due to additional state entities or the federal government. Here are some common requirements and fees.

Please note that Virginia business license and permit fees may be due when you first form your business, on an ongoing schedule or on an ad hoc basis. Find more details below.

Initial Virginia LLC Filing Fee

When you register a business in Virginia, you’ll need to file as an LLC with the VA Secretary of State and pay a filing fee. Here are the current Virginia LLC fees and filing times:

State Fee


State Filling Time

3 Weeks

Expedited Filing Time

2 Business Days

When you use Bizee to create an LLC in Virginia, we charge you the state filing fee and forward it to the VA Corporation Commission when we file your formation paperwork.

Bizee Can File Your Formation Paperwork for You for Free — Just Pay the Required Virginia LLC Filing Fee

Start Your LLC Through Bizee Today
Business Formation

Virginia Allows You to Form Your LLC More Quickly by Paying an Rush Fee

View Expedited Fees For Virginia

Employer Identification Number

Every LLC in the country should have a unique EIN (Employer Identification Number) from the Internal Revenue Service. You'll use it when you open a business bank account, file taxes and pay employees. You can get one directly from the IRS, or Bizee can get one for you.

Foreign LLCs

If you want to do business in a state other than the one where your business is based, you must create a Foreign LLC.

Virginia Foreign LLC Registration

Before you can bring an arm of your business from another state into Virginia, you must request Virginia Foreign Qualification. The state will then give you permission to conduct business there by issuing a Certificate of Authority in Virginia.

To request registration of a Foreign LLC in Virginia, you must complete an Application for Certificate of Registration to Transact Business in Virginia as a Foreign Limited Liability Company and pay a $100 filing fee. The state may have additional requirements so contact the VA SCC for more information and to ensure you're in compliance with state law

Foreign Qualification to Operate in Another State

If you plan to expand your Virginia LLC into another state, you’ll first need Foreign Qualification or a Certificate of Authority from that state. This is necessary before you can create a physical presence, hire employees, or bank in that state

You'll likely have to complete at least one application and pay a filing fee, but each state has its own requirements. Before you start the process, compare state filing times and state filing fees so you can plan accordingly.

Above all, contact the state government entity that administers business (usually the Secretary of State) to confirm their requirements and for specific instructions.

If you need assistance, Bizee provides a complete Foreign Qualification service for all states.

Virginia Annual Report Requirements

Most states — including Virginia — require businesses to file an annual (or other periodic) report. When you file your annual report, you’ll need to pay a fee of $50. Here are the annual filing requirements for Virginia:

Annual Report



Due Date

Last day of anniversary month of organization

Filing Fee


Bizee Can Complete and File Your Virginia Annual Report on Your Behalf

Bizee’s Annual Report Filing Service
Annual Report

Virginia Business License and Permit Requirements

Before you start doing business, you must secure the necessary state, federal or local business licenses and permits to operate your LLC. Some of the fees will only need to be paid once, while others may be ongoing charges.

Permits and licenses vary based on:
  1. The industry your LLC operates in (e.g., restaurants will need health permits)
  2. The location of your LLC (state, county or city) (e.g., a license to conduct business in Richmond)
  3. The type of business you run (e.g., healthcare providers must meet HIPAA requirements)
Operating your LLC without the required business license in Virginia can leave you vulnerable to risks, such as fines from local, state and federal governments.

You can research these permits and licenses yourself, or use Bizee’s Business License Research package, which includes:

  • A complete report on all the licenses, permits and tax registrations your LLC will need
  • The applications you'll need to file with the state, regional and federal licensing authorities

Operating Agreements

You're not legally required to have an LLC Operating Agreement in Virginia.

This document covers how your business will be run, how managers and members will be chosen, rights and duties of members and several other key areas.

Creating a Virginia LLC Operating Agreement can be extremely helpful in making sure you’re organized and prepared for any future events that may affect your business.

Bizee Can Draft a General Virginia LLC Operating Agreement template when you form your business.

You can make changes to the template based on your unique requirements.

Learn About Operating Agreements
Operating Agreement

Other Virginia LLC Fees or Requirements

You may need to pay and meet several other fees and requirements during the life of your LLC. These ad hoc fees will only be payable in specific circumstances, as listed below.

Obtaining a Fictitious Name or DBA

If you want to establish DBA in Virginia (fictitious name), you must file a form with the Corporation Commission and pay a filing fee of $10.

Bizee Can File Your Fictitious Name or DBA Forms on Your Behalf

Bizee’s DBA Service

Changing the Registered Agent

Your LLC must have a Virginia Registered Agent, which you need to appoint when you file your Articles of Organization. You can also change to a new Registered Agent later by filing a form. There's no charge for this service.

Have Bizee Serve as Your Registered Agent.

It’s free for the first year if you form your LLC with us and $119 a year after.

Use Our Trusted Registered Agent Service
Registered Agent

Reserving a Name for Your LLC

If you're not quite ready to start your business, you can reserve a name for 120 days with the VA State Corporation Commission by filing a form and paying a fee of $10. First, perform a Virginia business search and learn the state's business naming rules to ensure you choose a name that meets legal requirements.

Amending Facts About Your LLC

Your business formation paperwork states certain facts about your business at the time it's formed. Over time, some or all of this information may change. If it does, you'll need to file Articles of Amendment with the VA Corporation Commission and pay a $25 filing fee. You can do this yourself, or Bizee can do it for you.

You may want to file a Certificate of Amendment when you:
  • Add, remove or change an LLC member or manager
  • Change your LLC's name
  • Alter the stated purpose and activities of your LLC
  • Change your LLC's business address

Getting a Certificate of Good Standing in Virginia

Some organizations may request that you prove your LLC’s compliance with laws and tax requirements.If you need to prove you have met your commitments, you’ll need to request a Certificate of Good Standing from the VA Corporation Commission and pay a fee of $6.

Bizee Can Obtain a Certificate of Good Standing on your behalf

Certificate of Good Standing Service
Certificate of Good Standing

The information listed above details many of the fees a standard LLC will be required to pay in Virginia. In some circumstances, there may be other one-off, periodic or ad hoc fees not listed above.

Of course, your LLC will also probably need to pay self-employment, payroll, federal, state and other taxes. More information about taxes can be found on the Virginia Business Taxes page.

FAQs About Virginia LLC Fees


What Happens to the State Fees I'm Charged When Forming My LLC?

We charge you this fee at cost and then pay it to the State Corporation Commission on your behalf when forming your Virginia business.


Where Do I Get a Virginia Business License or Permit?

It depends on various factors including:

  • Governing organizations in your industry
  • Federal, state and local regulations
  • Where you're located
  • The type of business you run

Many new businesses need a business license, and you may be required to obtain additional licenses and permits. Our Business License Research package can take the guesswork out of it for you and help you learn what your LLC needs to be compliant.

incorporate now

Launch your business with bizee

No Contracts. No Surprises. Only $0 + State Fee to Launch Your Business.