Skip to content

Texas LLC Filing Fees and Requirements

Depending on the specifics of your business, you’ll be required to pay certain fees and fulfill various filing requirements.

Start your LLC today for $0 + TX state fee.

Starting a business in Texas? Get your first year of Registered Agent Service for free when you form with Bizee.

Woman carpenter working in a workshop

How Much Does Starting an LLC in Texas Cost?

Legal business registration — and keeping your business in good standing — involves necessary expenses and investment. Some of these costs are payable to the TX Secretary of State, while others are due to additional state entities or the federal government. Here are some common requirements and fees.

Please note that Texas business license and permit fees may be due when you first form your business, on an ongoing schedule or on an ad hoc basis. Find more details below.

Initial Texas LLC Filing Fee

When you register a business in Texas, you’ll need to file as an LLC with the TX Secretary of State and pay a filing fee. Here are the current Texas LLC fees and filing times:

State Fee


State Filling Time

4 Weeks

Expedited Filing Time

2 Business Days

When you use Bizee to create an LLC in Texas, we charge you the state filing fee and forward it to the TX Secretary of State when we file your formation paperwork.

Bizee Can File Your Formation Paperwork for You for Free — Just Pay the Required Texas LLC Filing Fee

Start Your LLC Through Bizee Today
File Your Formation

Texas Allows You to Form Your LLC More Quickly by Paying a Rush Fee

View Expedited Fees For Texas

Employer Identification Number

Every LLC in the country should have a unique EIN (Employer Identification Number) from the Internal Revenue Service. You'll use it when you open a business bank account, file taxes and pay employees. You can get one directly from the IRS, or Bizee can get one for you.

Foreign LLCs

If you want to do business in a state other than the one where your business is based, you must create a Foreign LLC.

Texas Foreign LLC Registration

Before you can bring an arm of your business from another state into Texas, you must request Texas Foreign Qualification. This means the state gives you permission to conduct business there.

To request registration of a Foreign LLC in Texas, you must complete an Application for Registration of a Foreign Limited Liability Company and pay a processing fee of $750. The state may have additional registration requirements, so contact the TX Secretary of State directly for more information and to ensure you're in compliance with state law.

Foreign Qualification to Operate in Another State

If you plan to expand your Texas LLC into another state, you’ll first need Foreign Qualification or a Certificate of Authority from that state. This is necessary before you can create a physical presence, hire employees, or bank in that state.

You'll likely have to complete at least one application and pay a filing fee, but each state has its own requirements. Before you start the process, compare state filing times and state filing fees so you can plan accordingly.

Above all, contact the state government entity that administers business (usually the Secretary of State) to confirm their requirements and for specific instructions.

If you need assistance, Bizee provides a complete Foreign Qualification service for all states.

Texas Annual Report Requirements

Most states require business entities to file an annual (or other periodic) report. Texas is a little different in that it has two annual report requirements:

  1. Franchise Tax Report
  2. Public Information Report

The Public Information Report is actually part of your franchise tax reporting. You'll find more information about the necessary Texas Secretary of State forms and reporting requirements in the Texas franchise tax section on the business taxes page of this guide.

Bizee Can Complete and File Your Public Information Report on Your Behalf

Bizee’s Annual Report Filing Service
Annual Report

Texas Business License and Permit Requirements

Before you start doing business, you must secure the necessary state, federal or local business licenses and permits to operate your LLC. Some of the fees will only need to be paid once, while others may be ongoing charges.

Permits and licenses vary based on:

  1. The type of business you run (e.g., healthcare providers must meet HIPAA requirements)
  2. The industry your LLC operates in (e.g., restaurants will need health permits)
  3. The location of your LLC (state, county or city) (e.g., a license to conduct business in San Antonio)

Operating your LLC without the required business license in Texas can leave you vulnerable to risks, such as fines from local, state and federal governments.

You can research these permits and licenses yourself, or use Bizee’s Business License Research package, which includes:

  • A complete report on all the licenses, permits and tax registrations your LLC will need
  • The applications you'll need to file with the local, state and federal licensing authorities

Operating Agreements

You're not legally required to have an LLC Operating Agreement in Texas.

This document covers how your business will be run, how managers and members will be chosen, rights and duties of members and several other key areas.

Creating a Texas LLC Operating Agreement can be extremely helpful in making sure you’re organized and prepared for any future events that may affect your business.

Bizee Can Draft a General Texas LLC Operating Agreement Template When You Form Your Business.

You can make changes to the template based on your unique requirements.

Learn About Operating Agreements
Operating Agreement

Other Texas LLC Fees and Requirements

You may need to pay and meet several other fees and requirements during the life of your LLC. These ad hoc fees will only be payable in specific circumstances, as listed below.

Obtaining an Assumed Name or DBA

If you want to establish a DBA in Texas (assumed name), you must file a form with the Secretary of State and pay a filing fee of $25.

Bizee Can File Your Assumed Name or DBA Forms on Your Behalf

Bizee’s DBA Service

Changing the Registered Agent

Your LLC must have a Texas Registered Agent, which you need to appoint when you file your Certificate of Formation. You can also change to a new Registered Agent later by filing a form and paying a fee of $15.

Let Bizee Serve as Your Registered Agent.

It’s free for the first year if you work with us to start an LLC in Texas and $119 a year after.

Use Our Trusted Registered Agent Service
Registered Agent

Reserving a Name for Your LLC

If you're not quite ready to start your business, you can reserve a name for 120 days with the TX Secretary of State by filing a form and paying a fee of $40. First, conduct a Texas business search and learn the state's business naming rules to ensure you choose a name that meets legal requirements.

Amending Facts About Your LLC

Your business formation paperwork states certain facts about your business at the time it's formed. Over time, some or all of this information may change. If it does, you'll need to file a Certificate of Amendment with the TX Secretary of State along with a filing fee of $150. You can do this yourself or Bizee can do it for you.

You may want to file a Certificate of Amendment when you:

  • Add, remove or change an LLC member or manager
  • Alter the stated purpose and activities of your LLC
  • Change your LLC's business address

Getting a Certificate of Good Standing in Texas

Some organizations may request that you prove your LLC’s compliance with laws and tax requirements. In most states, this proof is provided with a Certificate of Good Standing or Certificate of Existence. In Texas, it's called a Certificate of Fact - Status.

If you need to prove you have met your commitments, you’ll need to request a Texas Certificate of Fact - Status from the TX Secretary of State. You can do this via the state's online portal for a fee of $15.

Note: The state no longer uses the term "Texas Certificate of Good Standing." They now refer to that document as a "Texas Certificate of Account Status," which is issued by the state Comptroller, not the TX Secretary of State, and provides information about an entity's franchise tax account status. However, "Texas Certificate of Good Standing" is still sometimes used by the state's Comptroller of Public Accounts in reference to an entity's Texas franchise tax status.

Bizee Can Obtain a Texas Certificate of Fact - Status on Your Behalf

Certificate of Good Standing Service
Certificate of Good Standing

The information listed above details many of the fees a standard LLC will be required to pay in Texas. In some circumstances, there may be other one-off, periodic or ad hoc fees not listed above.

Of course, your LLC will also probably need to pay self-employment, payroll, federal, state and other taxes. More information about taxes can be found on the Texas Business Tax page.

FAQs About Texas LLC Fees


What Happens to the State Fees I'm Charged When Forming My LLC?

We charge you this fee at cost and then pay it to the Secretary of State on your behalf when forming your Texas business.


Where Do I Get a Texas Business License or Permit?

It depends on various factors including

  • Governing organizations in your industry
  • Federal, state and local regulations
  • The type of business you run
  • Where you're located

  • Many new businesses need a business license, and you may be required to obtain additional licenses and permits. Our Business License Research package can take the guesswork out of it for you and help you learn what your LLC needs to be compliant.

    incorporate now

    Launch your business with bizee

    No Contracts. No Surprises. Only $0 + State Fee to Launch Your Business.