Skip to content

Florida LLC Filing Fees and Requirements

Depending on the specifics of your business, you’ll be required to pay certain fees and fulfill numerous filing requirements.

Form an LLC today for $0 + FL state fee.

Ready to start a business in Florida? Let Bizee do all the paperwork for you for free.

Enterprising Woman with technical skills

How Much Does Starting a Florida LLC Cost?

Legal business registration — and keeping your business in good standing — requires an investment on your part. Some of these costs are payable to the Florida Corporations Division, while others are due to other state entities or the federal government. We’ve summarized some of the most common requirements and fees here.

Note that you may need to pay Florida business license and permit fees when you first form your business, on an ongoing schedule or on an ad hoc basis. You'll find more information below.

Initial Florida LLC Filing Fee

When you register an LLC in Florida, you’ll file paperwork with the Florida Corporations Division and pay a filing fee. Here are the current Florida LLC fees and filing times:

State Fee


State Filling Time

3 Weeks

Expedited Filing Time

3 Business Days

*$125 for Articles of Organization; $25 for Registered Agent designation

When you form through Bizee, we charge the state fee to you and pay the Florida Department of State on your behalf when we file your paperwork. While the state of Florida does not offer expedited filing for LLCs, Bizee can internally expedite your order to ensure the fastest delivery to the state for filing.

Bizee Can File Your Formation Paperwork for You for Free — Just Pay the Required Florida LLC Filing Fee

Form Your LLC Through Bizee Today
Business Formation

Bizee Can Help You Form Your LLC More Quickly 
When You Pay a Rush Fee

View Expedited Fees for Florida

Employer Identification Number

Every LLC in the U.S. should have a unique Employer Identification Number (EIN). It's provided by the Internal Revenue Service, and you use it when filing taxes, opening a business bank account, and paying employees. You can get one yourself at no cost from the IRS, or we can obtain one on your behalf.

Get an EIN for Your LLC Through Bizee

Foreign LLCs

If you want to do business in a state other than the one where your business is based, you must create a Foreign LLC.

Florida Foreign LLC

Before you can bring an arm of your business in from another state, you must request Foreign Qualification in Florida. This means the state gives you permission to conduct business there.

To request Florida Foreign LLC registration, you must complete an Application for Authorization to Transact Business in Florida and pay a fee of $125 ($100 to file and $25 for Registered Agent designation). The state may impose additional registration requirements, so contact the FL Corporations Division directly for more information and to ensure you're in compliance with state law.

Foreign Qualification to Operate in Another State

If you plan to expand your Florida LLC into another state, you’ll first need Foreign Qualification or a Certificate of Authority from that state. This is necessary before you can conduct any business in that state, including creating a physical presence, hiring employees, or opening a bank account.

You'll likely have to complete at least one application and pay a filing fee, but each state has its own requirements. Before you start the process, compare state filing times and state filing fees so you can plan accordingly.

Above all, contact the state government entity that administers business (usually the Secretary of State) to confirm their requirements and for specific instructions.

If you need assistance, or you'd simply rather let us handle everything for you, Bizee provides a complete Foreign Qualification service for all states.

Get Foreign Qualification or a Certificate of Authority Through Bizee

Florida Annual Report Requirements

Most states require business entities to file an annual (or other periodic) report. When you file your Florida LLC annual report, you'll need to pay a filing fee. Here are the Florida annual report requirements:

Annual Report



Due Date

May 1st

Filing Fee


Bizee Can Complete and File Your FL Annual Report on Your Behalf

Bizee’s Florida Annual Report Filing Service
Annual Report

Florida Business License and Permit Requirements

Before you start conducting business, you must secure the necessary state, federal, or local business licenses and permits to run your LLC. Some of the fees will only need to be paid once, while others may be ongoing charges.

Florida business license and permit requirements vary based on:
  1. The type of business you run (e.g., healthcare providers must meet HIPAA requirements)
  2. The industry your LLC operates in (e.g., restaurants will need health permits)
  3. The location of your LLC (state, county, or city) (e.g., a license to conduct business in Orlando)

Operating your LLC without the required business license in Florida can leave you vulnerable to risks, such as fines from local, state and federal governments.

You can research these permits and licenses yourself, or use Bizee’s Business License Research package, which includes:

  • A complete report on all the licenses, permits and tax registrations your LLC will need
  • The applications you'll need to file with the local, state and federal licensing authorities
Get Bizee’s Business License Research Package

Operating Agreements

You're not legally required to have an LLC Operating Agreement in Florida.

This document covers how your business will be run, how managers and members will be chosen, rights and duties of members and several other key areas.

Creating a Florida LLC Operating Agreement can be extremely helpful in ensuring you’re organized and prepared for any future events that may affect your business.

Bizee Can Draft a General Operating Agreement Template When You Form Your Business.

Learn About Operating Agreements
Operating Agreement

Other Florida LLC Fees and Requirements

You may need to pay and meet several other fees and requirements during the life of your LLC. These ad hoc fees will only be payable in specific circumstances, as listed below.

Obtaining an Assumed Name or DBA

If you want to establish a DBA in Florida (fictitious name), you must register the name online and pay a fee of $50. Or you can have Bizee do it on your behalf through our Assumed Business Name service.

The state also requires you to advertise the fictitious name you register at least once in a newspaper located in the county where your principal place of business is located.

Bizee Can File Your Trade Name or DBA Forms on Your Behalf

Bizee’s DBA Service

Changing the Registered Agent

Your LLC must have a Florida Registered Agent, which you need to appoint when you file your Articles of Organization. You can also change to a new Registered Agent later by filing a Statement of Registered Agent/Registered Office Change form and paying a fee of $25.

Let Bizee Serve as Your Registered Agent.

Use Our Trusted Registered Agent Service
Registered Agent

Reserving a Name for Your LLC

If you're not quite ready to start your business, you can reserve a name for 120 days with the Florida DOS by submitting a letter to the Florida SOS and paying a fee of $25. First, conduct a Florida business search and learn the state's business naming rules to ensure you choose a name that meets legal requirements.

Amending Facts About Your LLC

Your business formation paperwork states certain facts about your business at the time it was formed. Over time, some or all of this information may change. If it does, you'll need to file Articles of Amendment with the Florida DOS along with a filing fee of $25. You can do this yourself or Bizee can do it for you.

You may want to file a Certificate of Amendment when you:
  • Add, remove or change an LLC member or manager
  • Alter the stated purpose and activities of your LLC
  • Change your LLC's business address
Bizee’s Amendment Filing Service

Getting a Certificate of Good Standing in Florida

Some organizations may request that you prove your LLC’s compliance with laws and tax requirements. In most states, this proof is provided with a Certificate of Good Standing or Certificate of Existence. In Florida, it's called a Certificate Status.

If you need to prove you've met your commitments, you’ll need to request a Florida Certificate of Status from the Corporations Division. You can do this via the state's online portal for a fee of $5.

Bizee Can Obtain a Certificate of Status on Your Behalf

Certificate of Good Standing Service
Certificate of Good Standing

The information listed above details many of the fees a standard LLC will be required to pay in Florida. In some circumstances, there may be other one-off, periodic, or ad hoc fees not listed above.

Of course, your LLC will also probably need to pay self-employment, payroll, federal, state, and other taxes. More information about taxes can be found on the Florida Business Tax page.

FAQs About Florida LLC Fees


What Happens to the State Fees I'm Charged When Forming My LLC?

We charge you this fee at cost and then pay it to the Secretary of State on your behalf when forming your Florida business.


Where Do I Get Business Licenses and Permits for My LLC?

It depends on various factors including:

  • Governing organizations in your industry
  • Federal, state, and local regulations
  • Where you're located
  • The type of business you run

Many new businesses need a business license, and you may be required to obtain additional licenses and permits. Our Business License Research package can take the guesswork out of it for you and help you learn what your LLC needs to be compliant.

incorporate now

Launch your business with bizee

No Contracts. No Surprises. Only $0 + State Fee to Launch Your Business.