Skip to content

California LLC Filing Requirements and Fees

Depending on the specifics of your business, you’ll be required to fulfill various filing requirements and pay certain fees.

Start your LLC today for $0 + CA state fee.

Ready to form an LLC in California? Let Bizee do all the paperwork for you for free.

Woman carpenter working in a workshop

How Much Does Forming a California LLC Cost?

Legal business registration — and keeping your business in good standing — requires some investment. Some of these costs are payable to the Secretary of State, while others are due to additional state entities or the federal government. We’ve summarized some of the most common fees and requirements here. Note that California business license and permit fees may be due when you first form your business, on an ongoing schedule or on an ad hoc basis. Find more details below.

Initial California LLC Filing Fee

An LLC in California will need to file a form with the Secretary of State and pay a filing fee. Here are the current fees and filing times:

State Fee


State Filling Time

4 Weeks

Expedited Filing Time

6 Business Days

**The $75 filing fee includes $70 state fee and a $5 certified copy fee

When you use Bizee for your California LLC registration, we charge you the state filing fee and forward it to the Secretary of State when we file your formation paperwork.

Bizee Can File Your Formation Paperwork for You for Free — Just Pay Your Required State Fee

Start Your LLC Through Bizee Today

Bizee Can Form Your LLC More Quickly by Paying a Rush Fee

View Expedited Fees for California

Employer Identification Number

Every business entity in the U.S. should have a unique Employer Identification Number (EIN) from the Internal Revenue Service. You'll use it when you open a business bank account, file taxes and pay employees. You can get one directly from the IRS, or Bizee can obtain one on your behalf.

Get an EIN Through Bizee

Foreign LLCs

If you want to do business in a state other than the one where your business is based, you must create a Foreign LLC.

California Foreign LLC Registration

Before you can bring an arm of your business from another state into California, you must request California Foreign Qualification. This means the state gives you permission to conduct business there. To register a California Foreign LLC, you must complete an Application to Register a Foreign Limited Liability Company. You must also attach "... a valid certificate of good standing by an authorized public official of the foreign jurisdiction under which the foreign limited liability company is organized." Possible additional fees include $15 for in-person drop-off and $5 for a certified copy of your registration. You may also complete this application via the state's online portal. California may have additional registration requirements, so contact the Secretary of State directly for more information and to ensure you're in compliance with state law.

Foreign Qualification to Operate in Another State

If you plan to expand your California LLC into another state, you’ll first need Foreign Qualification or a Certificate of Authority from that state. This is necessary before you can create a physical presence, hire employees or bank in that state.

You'll likely have to complete at least one application and pay a filing fee, but each state has its own requirements. Before you start the process, compare state filing times and state filing fees so you can plan accordingly.

Above all, contact the state government entity that administers business (usually the Secretary of State) for specific instructions and to confirm their requirements.

If you need assistance, Bizee provides a complete Foreign Qualification service for all states.

Get Foreign Qualification or a Certificate of Authority Through Bizee

California Annual Report Requirements

Most states require business entities to file an annual (or other periodic) report. California calls their report a Statement of Information. You must file a California Statement of Information biennially (every other year) and pay a $20 filing fee. Bizee can remind you to do this, or we can do it for you if you have us take care of your formation paperwork. Important: Your first Statement of Information (Form LLC-12) is due within 90 days of your LLC formation date.

Annual Report



Due Date

During six-month period ending on last day of anniversary month of incorporation or qualification.

Filing Fee


California Franchise Tax



Franchise Tax Fee

$800 (minimum)

$800 payment for the LLC Franchise Tax is due by 15th day of the 4th month after your LLC is filed. The month your LLC is filed counts as Month 1, regardless if you file on the 1st of the month, the last of the month, or any day of the month, really. This means that if you were to file your LLC on March 22nd, then you must pay the $800 fee no later than June 15th (in this example, March is Month 1, April is Month 2, May is Month 3, and June is Month 4). Then, every year after your first payment $800 LLC Franchise Tax will be due by April 15th. You pay the $800 LLC Franchise Tax using Form 3522 called the LLC Tax Voucher. (Bizee does not assist in the filing of the Franchise Tax Report)

Bizee Can Also Complete and File Your California Statement of Information on Your Behalf.

Bizee’s Annual Report Filing Service
Annual Report

California Business License and Permit Requirements

Before you start doing business, you must secure the necessary state, federal or local business licenses and permits to operate your LLC. Some of the fees will only need to be paid once, while others may be ongoing charges.

Permits and licenses vary based on:

  1. The type of business you run (e.g., healthcare providers must meet HIPAA requirements)
  2. The industry your LLC operates in (e.g., restaurants will need health permits)
  3. The location of your LLC (state, county or city) (e.g., a license to conduct business in Los Angeles)

Operating your LLC without the required business license in California can leave you vulnerable to risks, such as fines from local, state and federal governments.

You can research these permits and licenses yourself, or use Bizee’s Business License Research package, which includes:

  • A complete report on all the licenses, permits and tax registrations your LLC will need
  • The applications you'll need to file with the local, state and federal licensing authorities
Get Bizee’s Business License Research Package
Operating Agreements

You are legally required to have a California LLC Operating Agreement in place when you form your business. This document covers how your business will be run, how managers and members will be chosen, rights and duties of members and several other key areas. Aside from legal compliance, having an LLC Operating Agreement in California can be extremely helpful in making sure you’re organized and prepared for any future events that may affect your business.

Bizee Can Draft a General California Operating Agreement Template When You Form Your Business.

Learn About Operating Agreements
Operating Agreement

Other California LLC Filing Requirements or Fees

You may need to pay and meet several other fees and requirements during the life of your LLC. These fees will only be payable in certain circumstances, as listed below.

Obtaining a Fictitious Name or DBA

If you want to establish a DBA in California (fictitious name), you must file with the clerk of the county where your business is located. Fees may vary. Contact your county clerk for more information.

Bizee Can File Your Fictitious Name or DBA Forms on Your Behalf

Bizee’s DBA Name Service
Changing the Registered Agent

Your LLC must have a Registered Agent in California, which you need to appoint when you file your Articles of Organization. You can also change to a new Agent for Service of Process (Registered Agent) later by filing a California Statement of Information. There is no fee for this if the change is filed between regular Statement of Information due dates.

Let Bizee Serve as Your Registered Agent.

Use Our Trusted Registered Agent Service
Registered Agent
Reserving a Name for Your LLC

If you're not quite ready to start your business, you can reserve a name for 60 days with the Secretary of State by filling out a Name Reservation Request and paying a fee of $10. First, conduct a California business search and learn the state's business naming rules to ensure you choose a name that meets legal requirements.

Amending Facts About Your LLC

Your business formation paperwork includes certain facts about your business at the time it's formed. Over time, some of this information may change. If it does, you'll need to file an Amendment to the Articles of Organization with the Secretary of State along with a filing fee of $30. You can do this yourself or Bizee can do it for you.

You may want to file an Amendment to the Articles of Organization when you:

  • Add, remove or change an LLC member or manager
  • Alter the stated purpose and activities of your LLC
  • Change your LLC's business address
Bizee’s Amendment Filing Service
Getting a Certificate of Good Standing in California

Some organizations may request that you prove your LLC’s compliance with laws and tax requirements. In most states, this proof is provided with a Certificate of Good Standing or Certificate of Existence. In California, it's a Certificate of Status. If you need to prove you have met your commitments, you’ll need to request a California Certificate of Status from the Secretary of State. You can do this by submitting a Business Entities Records Order Form and paying a fee of $5.

Bizee Can Obtain a California Certificate of Status on Your Behalf

Certificate of Good Standing Service
Certificate of Good Standing

The information listed above details many of the fees a standard LLC will be required to pay in California. In some circumstances, there may be other one-off, periodic or ad hoc fees not listed above. Of course, your LLC will also probably need to pay self-employment, payroll, federal, state and other taxes. More information about taxes can be found on the California Business Tax page.

FAQs About California LLC Fees


What Happens to the State Fees I'm Charged When Forming My California LLC?

We charge you this fee at cost and then pay it to the Secretary of State on your behalf when forming your California business.


Do I Need to Pay an Annual Report Fee Every Time I File?

Yes. In California, it's a Statement of Information, and it's due biennially (every other year) rather than annually. You can find more information above.


Where Do I Get a California Business License or Permit?

It depends on various factors, including:

  • The type of business you run
  • Where you're located
  • Governing organizations in your industry
  • Federal, state and local regulations

Many new businesses need a business license, and you may be required to obtain additional licenses and permits. Our Business License Research Package can take the guesswork out of it for you and help you learn what your LLC needs to be compliant.

incorporate now

Launch your business with bizee

No Contracts. No Surprises. Only $0 + State Fee to Launch Your Business.